Farm to Plate to Heart

Sunset in Paradise

Few of us are lucky to enough to know exactly where our food comes from. I’m not talking about saying “Oh yah, this carrot was grown in Vancouver somewhere…” I’m talking, pulling it out of the ground, pulling it off a vine, picking it off a tree, washing it and making something spectacular out of it….

Today, I was the luckiest person on earth. I finally got to visit Abundant Acres Farm out here in Nova Scotia. It’s the place I’ve mentioned in this post, the amazing farm that supplies the fantastic produce packs I had the pleasure of receiving this Summer. I’m not going to lie, I’m very sad that the packs have come to an end for the season…where am I going to get my fresh produce from?! NOTHING will ever taste the same…ever. I guess I’ll survive somehow, but to put it simply: it’s going to suck. SUCK!
I am in awe at how welcoming, kind, and warm Jen, Dave, Bruce and Dylan are; I can’t put into words how happy today made me, so hopefully these photos(in slideshow format, oooh!) taken by my lovely twin, Kim (found here) can sort of show how fulfilling and soul-soothing connecting with your food, and the people who grow it, truly is.

Dave, Jen, Bruce and Dylan; thank you SO much for opening your home, your hearts, and my eyes to what is possible when amazing people do amazing things.

Cheers.

*Recipe for Chana Masala (curried chickpeas) will be posted tomorrow*

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response to “Farm to Plate to Heart

Leave a Reply

