Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookies

Since moving on over to a more Paleo friendly lifestyle my body has pretty much stopped craving sugar, it’s quite fantastic; I never thought I’d pass up a tray of brownies or these amazing cookie-peanut butter cup-brownie bars my amazing friend S made (I took one home to freeze, and the Mr. had half that night and the next morning, since I knew it was in the freezer, I took it out and ate it…not because I was craving it, but because I knew it was there and it would have haunted me every day until I ate it, let me just say..AH-MAY-ZING!)

I digress.

I have stopped craving sugar almost entirely, but there are still those days (once a month….) that I would do pretty much anything for something baked and sweet. Being 8 months out from competition I can’t really justify shoving my face full of cookies, or brownies, or cookie-pb cup-brownie bars. *sad* but NOT sad! The internet is a beautiful thing, so many resources just waiting to be google searched.

I stumbled upon a recipe that was almost Paleo, you can find it here. It called for sugar…eep. Lucky for me however, I had just finished making a batch of apple sauce, you will see that I omitted the milk and the sugar as I used apple sauce. They turned out pretty darn good, they hit the spot perfectly and you don’t feel bad eating them! They are on the drier side because of the coconut flour, but that’s nothing a small cup of almond milk won’t fix!

Chocolate Chip Cookies – Paleo Friendly
adapted from http://chocolateandcarrots.com

1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract (you can omit this entirely if you choose)
4 eggs
1 cup apple sauce
1 cup coconut flour
dash of salt
3/4 cup dark chocolate chips, or carob chips if you like the flavour

Preheat the oven to 350°F.
Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper and set aside. In a small bowl, combine the coconut flour, salt and chocolate chips together, set aside. Combine the coconut oil, vanilla extract, eggs and apple sauce together. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and stir until everything is well incorporated. Take about a tablespoon of dough, roll and press onto the parchment lined cookie sheet. Bake for about 13 minutes or until lightly browned. **the original recipe says to bake for 20 minutes, but I found that (with my oven at least) after 13 minutes the cookies came out softer inside and out, after 15 they were a bit drier on the outside and soft on the inside.**

*UPDATE*
I stuck these cookies in the fridge last night and they taste amazing cold! Think I’ll freeze one next see how it holds up to a thaw. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

