Long Live Breakfast

I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned in previous posts how much I love having breakfast for dinner; actually, I could have a variation of breakfast for every meal of everyday for the rest of my life: think non training breakfast; egg whites and oats don’t really grind my gears as much as bacon pancakes or waffles with nutella.

I had an uncontrollable urge to have a greasy breakfast for breakfast today….although I woke up SUPER late (1:30 pm…oops) and so it turned into a greasy lunchfast , even better! I dragged the Mr. with me to Cora’s and had a giant non paleo plate of heaven, mmmm, I can still taste it *burp*. Gross, just kidding. So, when we got home and started cleaning, my mind automatically went to food (obviously. If you know me you know how often I think of food. All the time, all day long.) There was that urge again. My mind kept screaming “BREAKFAST! BREAKFAST! BRRREAKFASSSTTTTT!!!!” my stomach followed suit, and then my whole body was screaming for breakfast. I did the only thing I could do; give in.

Enter Crepes.

There is a place in BC called Cafe Crepe, and it is so very good. They have other things on their menu besides crepes, but really…why would you go to a place called Cafe Crepe and order a burger?? Anytime I was downtown with my two awesome foodie friends S and N we’d end up there. The first occasion was filled with rain, a K’naan concert in said rain and a lot of beer, crepes and an unfortunate event involving Spanx. Note to everyone, Spanx are evil, avoid them at all costs, especially if you want to breathe…or eat and drink beer for that matter. Annnnyway, another time we went just to hang out and decided to grab a coffee and a crepe while we were downtown I decided to have something ‘simple’ you know, an Spanish coffee and stack of butter and sugar crepes. HOLY SHMOLY.

That was the food memory that came flooding back to me today, I had to whip up a batch. I am lucky enough to have a husband that understands my need for all things food, with the promise of ribs, he went to the store for me to pick up some much needed vitals:

Shrimp and Brie Cheee

My local CSA pack provided the rest; farm fresh eggs, candy-sweet tomatoes and the freshest kale I’ve ever had in my entire life. You can fill the crepe with whatever your heart desires; I just sautéed the shrimp in salt, maple pepper and butter, and, when they were done, pulled them out and sautéed up some tomatoes and kale; added some brie cheese and topped it with the kale, tomatoes and shrimp. Get creative! Roasted red pepper, prosciutto and an over easy egg is also one of our favourites. Nutella, banana and coconut; sugar and butter, PB and Jam…and so on and so fourth. Go wild!

Basic Crepes

1 ½ cup flour
½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
1 Tbsp sugar
2 cups milk (I used unsweetened almond milk as we didn’t have cow’s milk on hand)
½ tsp vanilla
2 eggs, beaten
2 Tbsp butter, melted

Mix together all dry ingredients. In a separate bowl combine all wet ingredients and add to dry mix, beat until smooth.

Heat a pan as you would for pancakes. For each crepe pour a ¼ cup of batter onto the hot pan, and immediately rotate the pan until a thin film covers the bottom, cook for about a minute, then flip and cook the other side for the same amount of time. Spread with favourite filling and enjoy!

*Unfortunately*, we ate them so fast this is the only shot I got of the crepes I made today, I have a couple of crepes left so I’ll try to get some better shots tomorrow!

2 responses to “Long Live Breakfast

Leave a Reply

