Mom’s Easy Flour Tortillas

When I was younger, I had the most vile experience at a Mexican restaurant for a friend’s birthday; I was violently ill for a few days afterwards, and I swore I would NEVER have Mexican food again.

I should know better than to make food related promises before I even hit 20; rest assured that I’ve learned my lesson since then.  My motto for life now is “If I didn’t like it the first time I ate it, I’ll eat it again just in case I was having a bad day.”  I’m glad I changed my attitude towards food since that experience, a big part of that shift is my mom, and grandma; those two women are the best cooks that I have ever encountered; their passion for food shows in absolutely everything that they cook.  That being said…I’m really the only one in the family that will venture outside of my comfort zone with food.  This recipe however,  should please any of the fussy eaters in your household, you can fill it with anything!  This is my mom’s recipe, and it is divine, the tortillas are soft off the pan and they crisp up beautifully in the oven; they will keep for a couple of days wrapped tightly in the fridge.

Fajitas!

Mom’s Easy Flour Tortillas
Makes approximately 9 tortillas

2 cups All Purpose flour
½ tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
¼ cup vegetable shortening
½ cup warm water

  1. Place flour into a medium sized mixing bowl, cut in shortening with a pastry blender or two knives until it resembles small peas.
  2. Add enough water to the point where the dough just starts to come together, you may not need all of the water.
  3. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead a few times until it is nice and smooth.
  4. Make about 8-9 balls and brush with melted shortening, let sit for at least 20 minutes.
  5. Roll out the balls and cook on a flat cast iron pan.
  6. Fill with your favourite ingredients!

prepared dough

Cooking

Finished Tortillas

Chicken Fajitas

One response to “Mom’s Easy Flour Tortillas

Leave a Reply

