The ‘Grandma’s-is-better-but-this-will-still-make-you-sing’ Quiche

I remember in high school I was over at my friends’ place and their grandma had made quiche, and I swear it was the best thing I had ever tasted. Ever since that day I have been trying to find a quiche that tastes the same, I never made it myself though, because back home no one in the family liked it (gasp!). Now that I have my own house, my own kitchen and a husband that will basically eat anything that I put in front of him (love that man). it is not quite grandma’s but it is pretty damn close! I’ve made it about three times since I got to Nova Scotia in December and each time I think it tastes better and better. I’d love to make it more, but my body can’t take it all the time, I make mine with milk to make it a little less fatty because the crust takes quite a bit of butter, I like to cut the fat whenever possible, but it seems that with Quiche, it’s a little hard to do! I’ve provided the basic quiche recipe, but I always add more to it, bacon, onions, something green (asparagus, broccoli, brussel sprouts, etc), and cheese; you can add whatever you want and it will taste amazing. I apologize for the photos for this post, all the lights in my kitchen decided to go to shit right when I pulled this one out of the oven, that, and I managed to get my ugly pot holder in the shot as well…blech.

Crust

1 ¼ cup all purpose flour
½ tsp salt
½ tsp sugar
½ cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, chilled, and cut into small pieces
2-4 Tbsp ice water

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 (I only did 350 because my oven is completely wonky)
  2. In a large bowl, combine together the flour, salt and sugar. Add the butter and cut it in with a pastry blender or two knives until the butter is cut into the size of peas. After the butter has been cut into the flour mixture work it in as much as you can with your hands (I find you get a much flakier crust this way)
  3. Add cold water one tablespoon at a time, mixing with a fork until the dough holds together without feeling wet or sticky
  4. Gather the dough into a ball and flatten into a disc and cover with plastic wrap, chill in the refrigerator for an hour or in the freezer for about 15 minutes
  5. On a lightly floured surface roll out the dough to fit the size of a pie plate, make sure you have enough coming up the sides, the dough shrinks a bit during the baking process. Keep adding flour to the surface as you roll it out to keep it from sticking. Work as quickly as possible to ensure the dough doesn’t get too warm; if it does get warm as you roll it and it becomes hard to handle, put it in the freezer for about 5 minutes. Once you get it to the desired thickness, press it into the pie plate, or round tart pan with a removable bottom.
  6. If you get any tears or holes in your dough, patch them up with some extra dough with a little bit of water. You can also clean up your edges with a rolling pin to remove any excess dough, but I just leave my on there, it shrinks down anyway and I like extra crust on my quiche.
  7. Add pie weights (I use kidney beans in a piece of tin foil) to crust and bake for 10-15 minutes. You can skip this step entirely if you wish, and pour the filling in straight away and bake, but I like to make sure that the crust is semi baked so that it is completely done when the quiche comes out of the oven. I’ve tried it without baking the crust first, and I find that the bottom of the crust is too soft for my liking, but it is up to you.

Quiche Filling

4 Eggs
1 ½ cups whole Milk ((or cream, you choose) I use 2%)
salt and pepper to taste
½ cup cheese (optional)
filling of your choice. For the one pictured below I used bacon, onions, green onions and broccoli.

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Whisk the eggs and milk into a bowl until combined
  3. Add in salt, pepper, and fillings (I put my cheese in at this step; you may choose to sprinkle it on top of the quiche before it goes into the oven)
  4. Bake for 35-40 minutes/ Quiche will be a gorgeous deep golden brown colour when it is done
  5. Let cool for 5-10 minutes before slicing

I love to serve quiche with a simple spinach salad, or with some parboiled asparagus sautéed lightly in some butter and garlic (or plain too!)

I doubled this recipe as we have my father in law visiting us from BC and I like to have some food on hand for lunch and such, I ended up with some extra filling, but no crust. I poured the filling into cupcake pan and baked for about 35 minutes, let them cool, wrapped them and put them in the freezer. Yum!

Leave a Reply

