Is that a zucchini in your pocket….?

I have a huge problem, I make food, and then I eat it. Sounds like a ‘non-problem’ right? But when I’m trying to run a blog about food, I need to resist eating the food until I get a photo of it. I’m going to apologize now for the next couple of posts, there aren’t many photos that are any good, and they’re shots of a single slice of whatever it is I’m posting about, and shots of a cake with a single slice missing…I’m not proud of myself.

I always have really random cravings in the middle of the week, but especially when I’m sitting at home alone while the Mr. is away. This time it was for grilled cheese and chocolate cake. Since I had all the ingredients and it was my my cheat meal day, I decided to go a little bit overboard.

Image

I’m not sure why people think baking a chocolate cake is so difficult and time consuming; let’s clear up both myths at once, it’s not, and it’s not. Oh, and you can incorporate your veggies in it as well! You may be shaking your head in disbelief right now, and thinking that I’m crazy.

Trust me

Chocolate Zucchini Bread
Adapted from http://bsinthekitchen.com/chocolate-zucchini-bread/

  • 1 & 1/2 Cups Shredded Zucchini
  • 1 whole carrot, washed and shredded (optional. I also leave the peel on)
  • 1 Cup All Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 Cup high quality Unsweetened Cocoa
  • 1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Baking Powder
  • Dash of salt
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/2 Cup Canola Oil
  • 1/2 Cup Sugar
  • 1/2 Cup packed Brown Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 3/4 Cup Dark Chocolate Chips

In a mixer, combine oil, both sugars and vanilla until smooth. Mix in your eggs, shredded zucchini and carrot if using. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, salt, cinnamon, baking soda and baking powder. Slowly add the dry mixture into the wet and beat until combined. Mix in your chocolate chips.
Pour the batter into a greased loaf pan, cupcake pan or 9×9 cake pan, and bake at 350ºF degrees for 50-65 minutes (and the muffins about 25-30 minutes), or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Image

Leave a Reply

